Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Microgames, Monster Games, and Role Playing Games

Free Eighties Role Playing Games Available in PDF

Talislanta — I remember the ads for this game in Dragon back in the day. I never did see a copy at the game store, though. Now I can read… the entire line!

Star Frontiers — Not only can you get all the rules and modules… but you can get all the Dragon magazine articles to boot. (I’d seen a site earlier that had someone else’s reworking of all the material… but I couldn’t quite get up the nerve to play unless I was sure it was the real thing. This stuff is the real McCoy!) Note that Delta is responsible for alerting me to this site’s existence.

Marvel Superheroes — I admit, I’ve always been more curious about the old DC Heroes game… but this is the Marvel Universe as I grew up with it. The set of trifold cardboard miniatures look super neat, too. Check under the “Other Stuff” tab to see the download lists.

That’s all the ones that I know of. Am I missing any?

9 responses to “Free Eighties Role Playing Games Available in PDF

  1. Charlie Warren February 12, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    There’s definitely more available.

    The Powers & Perils rules can be found at http://www.powersandperils.org/rules.htm.

    The DragonQuest rules can be found at http://www.fantasist.net/dragonquest.shtml.

    I know there are more available and I will see if I can find them…

  2. Charlie Warren February 12, 2013 at 1:56 pm

    ZeFRS: Zebs Fantasy Roleplaying System is the old TSR Conan game with all of the intellectual property references removed and can be found at http://www.midcoast.com/~ricekrwc/zefrs/.

  3. Jason Packer February 13, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    Star Frontiers is one of those games that could use a reboot. The “background” info is sketchy and in some areas contradictory, and very definitely incomplete. But the races are compelling and the frontier nature of the stretch of the galaxy that you’re presented with is solid for adventuring. Add in the Knight Hawks rules for some cheesy space battle action and you’re all set.

  4. Tom February 13, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    Star Frontiers is a quirky system, but I still love it and recently started running it again. Also, check out this really impressive fanzine:

    http://starfrontiersman.com/downloads/starfrontiersman

    19 issues and counting. This magazine is part of what got me back into playing it.

  5. Pingback: The last of my eighties content - Debug Design 80's Retro Games Week

  6. Pingback: » Free Games - Medicare pdfs

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

