Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Microgames, Monster Games, and Role Playing Games

CAR WARS Compendium available as PDF on e23

This is the best thing to happen to the game for a long time. Thank you, STEVE JACKSON GAMES.  After combining this with the complete run of ADQ that is also available on e23, life is good for those that would like to enjoy legal copies of the best game of the eighties without giving excessive amounts money to the scalpers on ebay and Amazon….

Note that blank map sheets are available from Warehouse 23… and that it should also be fairly easy to make counters with various image files that are available here and there on the web.  If you need any assistance with such a project, please post on the CAR WARS forums or on Board Game Geek, and helpful gamers will come out the woodwork to give you any advice you might need.  Also, check out SPARK’s website for turning keys!  (And if you’re at a loss for just what kind of games to run, check out these session reports!)  To track how well sales are going for the first month after its release, look here.

Keep on duellin’, CAR WARS fans!

5 responses to “CAR WARS Compendium available as PDF on e23

  1. Kizan October 15, 2009 at 9:26 am

    I’ve lovin’ it! I purchased mine this morning. I had scanned in my own copy and OCR’ed it for search purposes, but this is much better.

    For $15 you can’t beat it!

    Thanx for the info!

  2. Timeshadows October 15, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    Thanks for the heads-up. :)

  3. RPiazza October 15, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    I was lucky enough to get keep a lot of stuff and find stuff at a decent price on ebay, when Car Wars caught my attention again. I always look for back ups copies and was shocked when I saw the price people are asking for Uncle Alberts last catalog and the compendium. Hopefully this kills that business and this will be the first of a few releases of some vintage stuff to get the game out there!!

  4. toobger November 29, 2009 at 2:07 am

    hey thanks for the update on Car wars. I really enjoy your blog about SJ Games and other stuff

    I’m an old skool fan who’s grown up and coming back for more

  5. Dinosaur Cowboy March 4, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    I’ve been wanting to get into Car Wars for a while, but trying to find 20 year old material (in a remotely usable state) was a big deterrent…that and my foolish friends seem to be obsessed with shiny games like Warhammer 40k (which is why I’m jealous of how many games you get in Jeffro!).

    Anyways the Compendium, which I just bought this morning (yeah…a little slow on keeping up with my Car Wars news) seems to solve this problem. I can’t wait to print some counters and vroom vroom across post apocalyptic highways.

Leave a Reply

