Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Microgames, Monster Games, and Role Playing Games

Madicon 21: Wandering Geek Girl Check

I was about to head towards the stairs when I saw her. It was that girl that had “processed” me the day before. She was looking right at me and walking towards me. I glanced behind me expecting to see another dude or something, but no one was there. I looked at her again… finally noticing the short skirt and the lacey post-goth, vampirey hose things. I opened my mouth to say something, but no words came out. She looked at my vintage Dungeons and Dragons game and started talking to me.

“Oh, you’re…”

“Yeah…”

“I really wanted to…”

“You did?”

“But I…”

“Ah…”

Somehow I could understand her even though neither one of us could put together a complete sentence. She’d wanted to play in my sessions, but had scheduling conflicts. She was looking straight into my eyes the entire time. I got lost there for a second… then somewhere in the back of my mind I heard a voice yelling, “show her the game, you fool!” Coming to my senses, I cracked open the venerable boxed set.

“Look at this,” I said. “See, there’s no glossy images… just a few understated illustrations. It’s so much more exciting when something is left to the imagination, don’t you agree…?”

She cocked her head to one side. Her hair obscured half of her face as she began staring at me again.

“And… uh… check out these pictures. They put a female character right on the front cover. That’s not a damsel in distress, either, but an equal partner in the party. And see here… the girl is rolling up a character the same as the guy. Her elf even has reasonable adventuring attire.”

I winced– I was sure that last remark came off condescending. Somehow we started talking in a rapid exchange of overlapping geeky chatter anyway. Role playing games. Japanese culture. Movies. I had half a thought to drop a hint about my age… my kids… anything that could give her a clue.

“I… was going to go to the game master seminar,” I finally said.

“Me, too,” she said.

“I, uh… I think we’re missing it….”

“Yeah….”

I paused for a moment and gave her a lame approximation of a smile.

“Let’s go,” I said.

And we went.

3 responses to “Madicon 21: Wandering Geek Girl Check

  1. Peter March 20, 2012 at 8:10 am

    Hurrah for making friends!

    (Says the guy who doesn’t go to conventions because he doesn’t want to meet anyone)

  2. micahblackburn April 5, 2012 at 11:29 am

    Still a better love story than Twilight… ;)

Leave a Reply

