Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Microgames, Monster Games, and Role Playing Games

CAR WARS Designer’s Edition Planned

The Ogre Kickstarter has been so fabulously successful, not only will there be supplements released for sixth edition, but a Car Wars Kickstarter is practically inevitable now. The quotes below from Steve Jackson and Phil Reed bring together everything we know at the moment: it’s going to be a big deal, it’ll have a relatively huge budget, it will have lots of plastic toys, and it will develop from the 5th edition ruleset. If you’d like to see Car Wars make a comeback, please help by sending an even louder and clearer message that there is a market for really nice editions of classic microgames: make a pledge for the Designer’s Edition of Ogre today and let Steve Jackson know you want more Car Wars! (And go buy some Car Wars PDF’s from e23 while you’re at it!)

The first game that I ever designed was Ogre and… as originally published it was a very cheapie little three buck game. The new incarnation of Ogre will probably be $100, it will come in a box that weighs 12 pounds, and it will have 3D figures– not plastic, but constructible cardboard. But we’re going to give people beautiful toys because some people like beautiful toys. Although I freely admit that this edition of Ogre gets back to “it’s my company and I want to do a pretty version of the first game that I ever did.” I think I’ll make the money back. If I’m wrong, I’m not risking anything of anybody else’s. It’s not even going to take so much away from Munchkin that the Munchkin guys’ jobs will be in danger. But I really think that in a year I get to look at my COO and say, “ha! told you so.” And he’ll say, “okay Steve, can we do another one…?” And then I’ll say, “yeah… now let’s do Car Wars that way… only with plastic.” — Steve Jackson, March 15, 2011

A new edition of Car Wars will start with 5th edition. There are a lot of changes I want to make (that design was done a decade ago), but the starting point will be 5th edition. With vehicle design. And aim for removing some needless complexity and make the game even faster and more streamlined so that we can get to the good parts.Phil Reed, April 17, 2012

Car Wars is probably our #1 possibility for a Kickstarter treatment, but it won’t happen this year. However, Phil [Steve Jackson Games Chief Operating Officer] was a Car Wars fan growing up, and is wildly enthusiastic. It’s possible that when I come back from my summer vacation I’ll find out that he has run one already.Steve Jackson, April 27, 2012

Time to work on the game and a million dollar budget.Phil Reed, April 27, 2012

‎I have some specific ideas on how a Car Wars project could work and plan to work on an outline next week on the flight to Hong Kong.Phil Reed, April 28, 2012

Ogre is the #1 Board Game on Kickstarter with $348,910 in funding. You can follow the pledge history of the project at Kicktraq.

6 responses to “CAR WARS Designer’s Edition Planned

  1. phantomwhale April 30, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    Awesome – look foward to that Car Wars project :D ORGE will have to be a pass for me though – the cost of getting that beast over to Australia is just too high !

  2. RogerBW May 1, 2012 at 3:22 am

    In the UK, there’s a lot more enthusiastic nostalgia for Car Wars than there is for Ogre – possibly because in the Ogre days it was still difficult to find imported games, but Car Wars kept going into the era when we had plenty of games shops. I think the 5e rules are probably workable, and I know you’ve done more with them than I have, but I hope they don’t stay at the 3″/15′ scale – we don’t have the huge tables that are apparently common in the US!

  3. travellerdocs May 4, 2012 at 11:22 am

    I’ve only played Car Wars exactly once due to lack of players to play with. I made the error of giving into nostalgia and bought a bunch of Car Wars stuff that gathers dust and I’d like to sell. But there seems to be a very limited pool of people who would buy it. :(

    • jeffro May 4, 2012 at 12:23 pm

      Thanks to Earlburt, most of my collection has been well played. Still haven’t done the Off-Road Duelling set or the Chopper Challenge scenarios. Someday…!

  4. chernobyl June 18, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    I think car wars should be shooting for 3D (minis, not cardboard counters) and be looking for the ideal table to be something like a 4’x6′ table that so many miniature wargames use. Start with a vehicle design system – don’t try and strap one on like 5E did. 3 phase movement was good improvement,

  5. Pingback: More Car Wars 6e Scuttlebutt « Jeffro’s Car Wars Blog

Leave a Reply

