Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Microgames, Monster Games, and Role Playing Games

Crushing the Axis

Axis & Allies is my gateway game of choice. My moldy old microgames are something of an acquired taste… and roleplaying games appeal to just a certain sort of person… but what teenager can resist the glory of epic World War II action? (Just get them hooked before they get a car and start chasing girls….)

So what happens in that first game? Well… I let the new guy pick whichever side he wants and then I just kill him. Here’s what happens when I am allowed to do whatever I want as the Allies:

  • Ah, Africa. The whole continent… it just says “free money” to me. I kill the German fleet with Great Britain, then I send the Americans in until it is mine. Most novice Axis players undervalue the place.
  • I put an industrial complex into India. I’ve done that before and lost it, but a new guy will let you get away with it. I used to have USA build Industrial Complexes in China, but I think now that I’d rather have the Americans pushing gigantic fleets around– somebody’s got to do it!
  • I play really aggressively with Russia, taking out as much German territory as possible. By the time that Russia exhausts itself, Great Britain is moving three infantry and three artillery units into Europe every turn and the USA is threatening to add more to that.
  • I don’t care about Japan. Germany is in a nice spot for all three Allied players to gang up on him, but Japan is just so isolated. I let Japan do whatever he wants as long as he doesn’t threaten the Russian capital. When Germany is pinned by Biritish and American forces, Russia can send a pile of infantry back across Asia. At the same time, Great Britain can send its monster force out of India and the USA can island hop in the Pacific. It’s hard to knock Japan out of the game, but you can make him work to hold on to his territory. You don’t have to beat Japan– you just have to keep him from causing too much trouble while you destroy Germany!

4 responses to “Crushing the Axis

  1. Ted Bohnstadt May 14, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    Another wrinkle you can try is dropping some Russian troops into Africa…if memory serves the Soviet Union starts with one troop transport in the Med that’s good for absolutely nothing except dying real fast in most games…I remember staring at that transport and trying to figure out what I could do with it and the answer of inserting Soviet troops into North Africa occurred to me. You obviously can’t HOLD the German territory you conquer there, mind, but you can make Germany waste time re-taking it and making Germany waste time at the outset is how the Allies win the game because the more Germany diddles around the more inevitable it is that they’re going to end up buried by American war production.

  2. earlburt May 15, 2012 at 10:33 am

    I usually use the Soviet transport to bolster the British navy around Enland, or maybe to bolster the British battleship in the Med. Crippling the British navy has always been an early priority of Germany in my games, so any little extra helps to make Germany squander their air force.

    I’d like to read Jeff’s version of his priorities playing the Axis.

  3. Jeffro May 15, 2012 at 11:18 am

    You could write an entire post on that stupid Russian sub! (Yeah, it’s a sub… in the new editions at least….)

  4. earlburt May 15, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    Right, a Russian transport in the North Sea, and a sub in the Med. It’s coming back now.

Leave a Reply

