Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Microgames, Monster Games, and Role Playing Games

100,000 Hits in Six Years

I’ve been posting on WordPress for six years now… and I just scored my 100,000th hit. I have no idea what percentage of those are robots… or how many readers go uncounted. But the number of hits-per-month sure seems to change in response to my output, so maybe there’s something to it. (I get 800 just for being here. I can bust 2,000 if I post a lot. 5,000 and 10,000 hits in a month require linkage from high-traffic web sites. One third of my hits are from this year, so things have definitely picked up recently.)

I sometimes wonder why I do this, but then I think of all of the creative gamer types I stay in touch with here… the insightful comments that get posted here by dedicated followers, not to mention the occasional package of vintage games that arrives in the mail. (Games that I just wouldn’t otherwise buy for myself.) 100,000 hits represents a lot of attention for old school games that wouldn’t otherwise get covered. Hopefully you’ve been inspired to dig those dusty old games out of the closet and get them good and played like they deserve.

Thanks for sticking with me, folks. I don’t know what the future holds, but the present is significantly more cheerful thanks to you.

Just for future reference, these are the games that currently hit the table as of late. My “Hot Ten,” as it were:

  • The Last Starfighter Combat Game
  • Power Grid
  • Napolean’s Triumph
  • GURPS Prime Directive
  • Raid on Cygnosa
  • Labyrinth Lord
  • Car Wars Compendium Second Edition
  • The Awful Green Things From Outer Space
  • Star Fleet Battles
  • Star Trek III Starship Combat Game

Coincidentally, my Car Wars T-shirt arrived to day. (Coincidence? I think not!) Life is good and the stars are right!

2 responses to “100,000 Hits in Six Years

  1. Douglas Cole November 4, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    I loved The Last Starfighter, by the way. I still have the counters, if not the rules.

    • jeffro November 5, 2012 at 9:06 am

      Played it again last night with my son– that game is just the perfect level of complexity… and has enough chrome to be uber-cool. A micro-game sized system with relatively classy components.

Leave a Reply

