Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Microgames, Monster Games, and Role Playing Games

Random Thoughts about Kids and Role Playing Games

Player consensus is the thing that put an end to my running games for both of my kids. The couldn’t agree on how they would proceed, so I just gave up after a while. This was surprising to me, because I just assumed that the gaming would get better and better as they grew, but it turned out that things just worked a lot better when they we more innocent. Like that time that my daughter talked my son into tasting the potions for her and he only just barely made his saving throw…. Ah, good times.

I’ve been getting out Heroes & Other Worlds again lately, hoping to slip in some quick gaming even when we only had maybe fifteen minutes or so. (Sometimes we don’t have enough time to get a good Ogre session in.) I’ve been trying to get my son to do more of the character creation stuff, but he just gets frustrated at all the options. There’s just a couple of pages of skills and he seems to agonize over them. Spells were just insanely too much for him: that was the point where he threw up his hands. I think the system is a good fit for him– especially when combined with the Dark City Games adventures– but I think it would be better if he had quick random generators for the various Adventurer archetypes that he has in mind. For the Wizard… something a bit closer to Classic Traveller would be fun….

The one aspect of these games that the kids really pick up and run with would be the map making side. They don’t seem to have any concept of the sort of game that might underlie their maps… but they absolutely adore the gigantic palette that a good map legend seems to inspire. They debate the appropriateness of each symbol, decorate their various geological impossibilities, and mull over every possible option as they fill in hexes. I think I was more into mazes and dungeons when I was in elementary school, but this is pretty much exactly how I behaved at their age. I had only the dimmest idea of what these games actually were and I could only just barely make a character, but I could sit and draw maps for hours….

5 responses to “Random Thoughts about Kids and Role Playing Games

  1. Jimmy Anderson December 10, 2013 at 8:21 am

    If that’s the only thing they enjoy, then enjoy it with them! You will cherish it later. :-)

    My kids gamed with me some, but I wish now I had taken the time to game with them more as they were growing up… My oldest lives in Indy now (yes, we are going to GenCon together in 2014) but thanks to the Internet I’m about to GM for him and some old friends from school. :-D

    • jeffro December 10, 2013 at 9:27 am

      Good luck with that game. I hope it goes well!

      • Jimmy Anderson December 10, 2013 at 11:24 am

        Thank you! I’ve had fun just connected with my son via roll20.net and getting to video chat with him as we have worked on his character. :-)

        We are going to be playing Edge of the Empire. If your kids are Star Wars fans they might enjoy the “storytelling” part of it as opposed to “hard number” skill checks.

  2. Robert Amador December 11, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    Jeffro, have you seen or played this with your kids? http://herokidsrpg.blogspot.com/ it’s alot eaier and fun for kids rpg.

  3. Pingback: That’s Not D&D | Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Leave a Reply

