Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Microgames, Monster Games, and Role Playing Games

Random Thoughts: Default Characters, Manly Men, Slumping Sales, and Hipster Welfare

Charles Akins wants to know what your default is when you read a character in a book that isn’t really specified.

Mine is an amalgam of John Carter, Conan, and Dumarest. It’s awesome!

Tom Knighton wants to know if we can name some some of our favorite works that aren’t about manly men doing manly things in manly ways.

I’m trying to think what I like that’s outside of the scope of Conan of Cimmeria, John Carter of Mars, and Dumarest of Terra and I’m having a real hard time. I’m willing to broaden my horizens occasionally by reading about Cugel the Clever, I guess.

Oh wait, I remember liking one book that wasn’t about a Manly Man. It was about this child prodigy military genius that wiped out a huge armada of alien space ships and saved the earth.

You know, other than that… I can’t really think of anything.

You want to know why science fiction sales are slumping? It’s because you can’t get stuff like “Incident on Ath” at Barnes & Nobel. I mean just look at it! Even if the books are all perfectly fine taken out of context, I’d read all 17 novels before this one just to maximize the savory awesomeness of everything about it.

I posted the following poll up on Google+:

True or False ? — Patreon is hipster welfare, a naked embrace of internet panhandling for losers that can’t make it in the open market.

Only 11% of the respondents voted true, but that shouldn’t be surprising– given who’s on my feed, a good many of the people participating actually have rpg-related Patreons themselves!

5 responses to “Random Thoughts: Default Characters, Manly Men, Slumping Sales, and Hipster Welfare

  1. Cedar Sanderson April 25, 2015 at 11:45 am

    Did you see my reaction to Tom’s post on Manly Men? We had some fun with it!

    • jeffro April 25, 2015 at 11:51 am

      This is maybe a little funny, but I looked at your list and failed to recognize a single character. I can only presume I am the very embodiment of the “Manly Man” fans that everyone is complaining about lately. Next time this comes up, just tell them, “oh, no… you have us confused with Jeffro.”

      • Cedar Sanderson April 25, 2015 at 11:57 am

        LOL – so, you’re saying I should hold you up as the epitome of the manly man? Sure, I can do that ;)

        I’ll be following this up on Monday with a list made up of Heroic males. Interestingly, there aren’t as many suggestions being made, it was easier to get the list of female characters.

      • jeffro April 25, 2015 at 12:06 pm

        Eh, I wasn’t talking about me.

        I’m a fan of “manly man” characters— they’re what I like to read about. The hatred for these characters by the establishment is palpable. I’m sick of stories where the women don’t need men– that’s pure hateful propaganda. I’m sick of stories where the manly man character is little more than a punching bag for angry women. (See Agents of Shield season one for the latest example.) To hell with these people. I’ll read Conan and Dumarest and John Carter even if no one will make it anymore and I don’t need them. And you won’t see me apologizing for this or carrying on about how “strong” Deja Thoris and Derai and Belit are. These people hate real romance as much as they hate men. They are morally bankrupt, spiritually ugly, and intellectually barren. They can bite me.

      • T.L. Knighton April 25, 2015 at 5:34 pm

        And really, that’s what makes science fiction and fantasy so awesome. We can all find what we want. :D

Leave a Reply

