Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Microgames, Monster Games, and Role Playing Games

Gamer Care Package from Lesser Gnome

Okay, this is awesome.

I came home yesterday to a package from Zach Glazer of Lesser Gnome. (No, I don’t have any idea who that is except that it’s someone that really digs vintage games, game blogging, and Appendix N type stuff.)

Now… it really bugs me to have scads of unplayed games sitting around taunting me. That’s why it’s especially nice to get the game system that I’m already running. Yeah, that’s right. I’ve been running ACKS for months on end with nothing but ten bucks worth of printouts. But hey, that stuff’s the player reference now. (And can you believe I actually reviewed Domains at War last year without the benefit of the maps and counters. Eh, I guess I can fix that now…!)

To go along with the big box of classic AD&D core books that my friend Christ Mata sent me earlier this year, I have now have these two glorious items. And yeah, I had no idea when when Chris sent me first edition Gamma World and the unexpurgated edition of Deities & Demigods that I would actually “need” them for actual research purposes. I’ve been buying stuff for “research purposes” for years and never really did anything with it, but maybe these new tomes of ancient lore will come in handy as well. Even if they don’t, well… I still remember being mondo jealous of the dude down the street that owned a copy of the Dungeoneer’s Survival Guide. You don’t know what it’s like to have to go through decades of not having that. My long nightmare of pain is now over!

And then there’s these. I’ve never even seen a Judges Guild product before. I really have no idea what’s in here beyond the vaguely negative vibe from Traveller grognards. But I can’t wait to see for myself how gloriously awful they really are. Yeah, I think there’s some game blog posts in this pile. Hopefully a rant or two!

Finally… there’s this stuff. It’s the Ennie nominated “Whisper and Venom”, “The Whisper Vale Regional Setting Guide”, and “TS2 The First Sentinel”. I don’t think I’ve heard of these products, but with “For Use With Classic Fantasy Role-Playing Games” on the cover like that, I don’t think I’ll have any problem figuring out what to do with it…! (And poking around the blog there… this is a pretty good read. Ah, another James Maliszewski victim. I think I can relate to that!)

Thanks a lot, Zach. I’ll take a closer look at all this about 28,000 words of Appendix N posts from now. But at the moment, this box o’ games sure does count as a bonus on my morale checks. This is Rhinestone Cowboy levels of win here…!

5 responses to “Gamer Care Package from Lesser Gnome

  1. Stelios V. Perdios June 3, 2015 at 4:09 pm

    You’ve got some great swag there.

    In case you hadn’t checked it out already, The “DM’s Section” of the Dungeoneer’s Survivial Guide has some great inspirational reading about the Underdark and adventure design. Have fun.

  2. Pingback: A Quick Look at TS2 The First Sentinel from Lesser Gnome | Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

  3. Pingback: A Quick Look at Whisper & Venom from Lesser Gnome | Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

  4. Pingback: DESIGNER SPOTLIGHT: Zach Glazar, Lesser Gnome – castaliahouse.com

Leave a Reply

