Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Microgames, Monster Games, and Role Playing Games

Hugo Update: Signed, Sealed, Delivered!

I got this in the mail the other day:

Classy stuff! I tell ya, as soon as I pulled that sucker out of the envelope, every thought about the kvetching and wrangling and squabbling from the past few months over this thing just completely dissipated right there.

And it’s funny because it reminds me of the time when I first turned the corner on this game blogging thing. See, I’m still kind of the new kind on the block in some sense. Never mind that I’ve got posts going back a decade. There were guys that came onto the scene years after me that didn’t just show me how it was done, they caused a sensation. And every week I’d sit down and do a post on the coolest thing I could come up with… and I was counting every link back, every comment, every page hit, sure. But it was the blog rolls that I especially watched. I thought I’d never catch my break, right? But I kept at it.

Then one day… it happened. I got blog-rolled by someone… and they weren’t someone that had, you know, five hundred links in their side bar. They had less than twenty choice blogs listed. And there was my blog right next to Grognardia and Jeff’s Gameblog. It was awesome. I’d made it! And I knew in that moment that years from that point, I would look back at that and tell people… “this is when everything started to fall in place for me; this was the time!”

Well the next day, I went back to that blog and my name was gone. (!!)

Okay, so maybe that wasn’t my big moment. Of course, with Grognardia dead since December 11, 2012, you don’t see it on blogrolls like it used to be. I guess taking my destined spot between the two greats probably isn’t in the cards for me. But you do what you can, right?

As far as milestones go though… here’s a few that I never even thought to look for:

Charles Akins included me in his list of top ten RPG blogs a few weeks back. Given that he pretty much reads all of them, that’s a pretty big deal if you ask me.

Meanwhile, Atoms & Arcana has this to say: “I’m a voracious reader. But a terrible book reviewer. For an example of a great book reviewer, I would point you to Jeffro at the Castalia House Blog.” I always got the feeling that I was losing people as soon as I switched gears from book talk to gaming talk, but this guy seems to dig my retrospectives just as reviews. Pretty neat!

But hey… maybe these guys represent two entirely different audiences that are distinct from the usual Hugo voter? Well, from that scene, there is jsl32 weighing in with this:

I’m not really sure what to say about this category except that it would be cool to have a mechanism for highlighting research and historical blogging like Jeffro’s over just having a blog about general SFF topics. Since pre-Sad Puppies, this was one of the dumping grounds for scummy career climbers, maybe with more eyes on it next year the mechanism will evolve naturally instead of being a list composed of whoever could get fifteen people to nominate them.

A force for good within my category? Well it depends on who you ask. Either way, though… I think I’ll frame my certificate, pop a beer, break out a vintage game, and kick back with another disintegrating paperback. However things shake out, there’s plenty here to celebrate!

4 responses to “Hugo Update: Signed, Sealed, Delivered!

  1. Cambias July 1, 2015 at 10:32 am

    Congratulations, and here’s hoping the con members recognize how much you deserve the trophy.

  2. Warren Abox July 2, 2015 at 1:06 am

    That’s funny. Seeing my blog on your blogroll gave me that same feeling of having “arrived” as a blogger. Now I can say my blog is recommended by Hugo nominees!

    • jeffro July 2, 2015 at 9:29 am

      If putting together a big box of Car Wars awesomeness doesn’t net you enduring fame, then there’s something wrong with the world if you ask me!

Leave a Reply

