Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Microgames, Monster Games, and Role Playing Games

A Quick Look at TS2 The First Sentinel from Lesser Gnome

A copy of this supplement came to me in the mail from Zach Glazner at Lesser Gnome… along with a whole bunch of other cool stuff. When I threw this image onto Google+, people wanted to know more, though…. So here’s a quick post!

What is it?

  • It’s a short adventure designed to be dropped into whatever campaign you’re already running.
  • It’s straight up AD&D. First edition.
  • It all feels pretty much like a late eighties TSR product… right down to the light blue map on the inside of the cover folder.
  • There is an adventure hook situation, some wilderness situations, and a final “tower” type dungeon.
  • There are new monsters and magic items and a fully fleshed out NPC.

My one criticism that I’d give for this is that it is a fairly linear scenario. Now, that’s pretty much the norm in everything from Car Wars adventures from classic issues of Autoduel Quarterly on down to 4th edition D&D convention sessions. But that might be a deal breaker for some folks. On the other hand, it makes fitting the action into a specific set of time constraints a breeze.

Although it looks like it from the outside, this is not one of those really dense old style dungeon crawls. This feels to me more like an article from the early days of Dungeon Magazine. Although at that stage of the game, I think TSR would have been shying away from the themes of demons and possession that we see here. Even so, this is still straight ahead adventure stuff. Lesser Gnome is not competing with James Raggi on the freak factor.

The color local map with the regional map on the back is very fine. You’d never see something this nice in a TSR module. My first thought looking at it was that I would run a game with it just so I could have nice “feelies” for a con session for once. (I’m cheap and not very artistic, so my players tend to do without such niceties.) The work stands alone, but it’s clear that this is the tip of the iceberg of something that’s fairly ambitious. (I’ll take a look at some of the other stuff in a followup post.)

The last I heard, this product was only available in physical copy. As of this writing, it is still available here.

6 responses to “A Quick Look at TS2 The First Sentinel from Lesser Gnome

  1. Marty W July 10, 2015 at 2:31 pm

    Good review, but would you say its worth the price? I only note because you received it for free, but U.S. customers needs to pay $30 with shipping and nearly twice that for the rest of the world. I’m thinking they could use some PDF distribution given the cost… or lower the price somewhat.

    • jeffro July 10, 2015 at 2:55 pm

      I’m gonna have to recuse myself from giving a serious critical assessment on this one– though if I do run it, look out for a session report. But yes, production values are not skimped on and that shows up in the cost. If you can actually see the Whisper & Venom Box Set with your own eyes at a con or something… it’s something to behold.

  2. Pingback: A Quick Look at Whisper & Venom from Lesser Gnome | Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

  3. Edwin Nagy July 16, 2015 at 12:05 pm

    I just saw this linked from your review of Whisper, from Zach’s post. If you ever run it, I’d love to hear your feedback! And thanks for posting a review.
    -a lesser gnome and author

Leave a Reply

