Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Microgames, Monster Games, and Role Playing Games

I Was Wrong…

I’d called this one as soon as word came that Laura Mixon was on the ballot. But I confess, I actually did think I had a fair shot at it. The number of people that came out to back me was really heartening. And if you look at the posts from some of the big wheels on the other side, they really did seem to think that a couple of puppies would get through. I was among the puppy nominees that were least offensive to the anti-puppies… so if some of us got through, I figured I’d be among them.

It’s silly now in retrospect, but I really was both surprised and disappointed by the results the night before last. I’d actually thought that the File770 commentariat and all those people posting their ballots on Live Journal were a minority that was simply not representative of fandom at large.

But I was wrong.

Ah well, live and learn. Congrats to the winners. Congrats to the Anti-puppies for running such an effective campaign. See y’all next year for round four!

9 responses to “I Was Wrong…

  1. Warren Abox August 24, 2015 at 3:13 pm

    “Anti-puppies”? Always preferred the term “Puppy-kickers” myself. And make no mistake…even combined the Puppies of various breeds and the puppy-kickers are still a minority not representative of fandom at large. You’re talking about somewhere around three to five thousand people depending on how you count them, where a middle of the road novel sells in the tens of thousands and that to a fraction of the potential market. That leaves a pretty big number of people on the sidelines, most of which aren’t even aware of the fight, let alone aware but not motivated enough to participate. And really, can you blame them?

    • jeffro August 24, 2015 at 3:18 pm

      Well, I was trying to be charitable. (Every time I lose a board game, I try to point out something the other side did to outplay me. It’s sort of a reflex really.)

      Seeing Robert Silverburg put a blessing on the whole lot of them was truly surreal. The natives were clearly restless Saturday night!

  2. Gyrus August 24, 2015 at 7:04 pm

    I credit your blog for deepening my appreciation of tabletop gaming (and showing me things I didn’t know). You’re the best kind of fan.

  3. Gramps August 25, 2015 at 8:55 am

    Thank you for all you did for the fandom. Since it seems to be important to mention one’s “loyalties”: I am in not in any of the rabid sad kickers factions – I prefer to think and to decide for myself. Found your work as a result of the Hugo shortlist, REALLY like it and will definitely read through all your work in the upcoming months. I guess that makes me a fan’s fan now :-)

  4. Yama August 27, 2015 at 2:33 pm

    I pulled for you, Jeffro. Sorry you got caught up in the war.

Leave a Reply

