Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Microgames, Monster Games, and Role Playing Games

Appendix N is Doing Surprisingly Well

The book is selling.

Better than anyone expected, really.

And the five star reviews from people outside of the gaming and book blogging scenes…? They are really, really positive.

This is one of those books that expands your reading list considerably. I am still in the stage of dipping my toe into the SF/F genres and Jeffro’s list, taken from Gary Gygax’s D&D inspirations, is a great starting point. I used to just assume the old SF/F would be outdated and boring, books written for a tiny subculture of rejects and nerds, but I am very wrong. Almost all of the books mentioned in the appendix not only sound interesting, but well written and articulated stories. It’s also just neat to have a little more depth of understanding about the heritage of SF/F, D&D, and other elements that permeate our culture today. I’d say more, but I have to start reading these books now, and I don’t feel like I’m going to be disappointed.

(This sort of thing has happened so often and so consistently now that people on Twitter have coined a term for it…!)

I own many of these books, and I wish there was a way to get them back into publication in Kindle form so they could once again be read and appreciated. I want to thank Mr. Johnson for this fine retrospective on much of the fantasy genre. A fine job and I unreservedly recommend this book. Do not plan on reading it in a couple of days, it deserves for you to take your time, reflect on what is being said, and then take it up again. You will be richer for the experience.

You know… the whole time I was working on this thing, I thought of myself as being sort of three star writer that could occasionally dip up into into four star territory. And I knew there was an audience for what I was doing– even if I had to go out and build that audience while I wrote the book.

Still… the amount of excitement this book is generating is astonishing to me.

8 responses to “Appendix N is Doing Surprisingly Well

  1. MishaBurnett January 27, 2017 at 4:51 pm

    Well, I’m listening to “Three Hearts And Three Lions” now. It’s read by Bronson Pinchot, who is one of my favorite narrators.

  2. hoocott January 27, 2017 at 5:40 pm

    “This sort of thing has happened so often and so consistently now that people on Twitter have coined a term for it…!”

    I can appreciate why YOU would not write the word on your own blog.

    But some some things at certain times need to expressed.

    …..

    JEFFROED!

    • Jeff January 27, 2017 at 6:03 pm

      Thanks! I was wondering what the term might be, but not being on Twitter, I wasn’t able to find it out that way… ;-)

  3. John E. Boyle January 29, 2017 at 7:27 pm

    Congratulations!

    That your book is doing this well across so many different scenes is great. The word is spreading!

  4. Pingback: What’s up in Gaming? February Edition – die heart

Leave a Reply

