Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Microgames, Monster Games, and Role Playing Games

Appendix N is Causing a Commotion!

I was interviewed last week by Scott Cole over at the Castalia House blog.

Awesome reviews like this one keep rolling in:

I’ve been mulling it over for a week now on how to write a review for this. I’m still not sure I can do it justice but I’ll try.

This author has hit on the exact essence of what made early Dungeons and Dragons great. The things he highlights in each tale is the exact reason I love each story. Gygax and Company had access to a rich and wonderful set of books that we are not lucky enough to have today.

Publishers don’t take risks like they used to. Only now with the renaissance of self publishing are we seeing the odd and eldritch return to print. This tome is vital in understanding the story element design choices that made D&D great. The disregard for convention, the raw wildness of the ideas.

Jeffro has collected the proverbial cherry from the top of each of these sundays and then encourages you to dig your spoon in deep.

The response to the announcement that I’ll be on Geek Gab again along with Razorfist has caused a stir:

Meanwhile, Brian Niemeier reports a new fear percolating in the vast reaches of the internet:

Bwa-ha-ha!

Stick around. We’re just getting warmed up here!

6 responses to “Appendix N is Causing a Commotion!

  1. pcbushi February 9, 2017 at 8:21 am

    Nice. I’ll have to acquaint myself with who this Razorfist fellow is.

    As to Brian’s tweet about gatekeepers, I think that generated from an exchange he and I had between our blogs, related to that whole Harry Potter discussion. In part was a misunderstanding.

    • jeffro February 9, 2017 at 9:40 am

      Ah, well…. Just the fact that something like that is conceivable at all is crazy given the fact that basically no one would sit at out lunch table a year ago.

    • The Mixed GM February 9, 2017 at 11:17 am

      If you do decide to watch some of his videos… be sure that there are no children around. He is entertaining…but his use of language is not PG.

      I am excited to see where this Appendix N / pulp conversation goes. Maybe I am being too optimistic, but I am hoping that this period of time will be looked at the way we look at the pre-70s SFF literature.

  2. airboy February 12, 2017 at 12:32 pm

    I finished Appendix N this week. It was a very interesting book and I bought a couple of other things based on the book.

    I’d read many of the books from Appendix N before this and own many of these books (all of the Conan books, LOTR, Fritz Leiber, etc….).

    I’ve got this on my list of things to review for http://www.grogheads.com – a website devoted to games, especially wargames. But wargamers play a lot of RPG stuff and this was a very interesting read.

Leave a Reply

