Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Microgames, Monster Games, and Role Playing Games

The Jeffro Johnson Story

captainNo no no, I’m not talking about the story of the guy that stumbled into the Pulp Fantasy Canon and then broke the astounding news of the true history of fantasy and science fiction.

That’s last year’s news!

People have been double dog daring me to step up and write a story with increasing frequency. I have no idea if I even have it in me as I’ve only even tried doing it once. But hey, writing is writing. And if the fans think they can actually get excited about it (and by that I mean buy it and link to it and write reviews about it on Amazon) then I’m happy to try something different.

So what do you want…? What itch do you have that is just not being scratched and which you think I could conceivably step in and do something with…?

Or maybe you could look at it from the other direction… if I happened to have thrown up a 99¢ short work up on Amazon that people would totally dig… what do you think it would be like…?

I’ve never really given this any thought, so if you have any input… please lay it on me!

5 responses to “The Jeffro Johnson Story

  1. Cirsova March 27, 2017 at 2:39 pm

    Clearly shitlord femme AIs and Monster Girls are the spirit of the age.

    Personally, I’d enjoy more stories in the “Herodotus wrote no lies” niche of adventure fantasy…

  2. MishaBurnett March 27, 2017 at 6:31 pm

    Right now you are “The Appendix N Guy”. From a marketing standpoint I would advise putting something out there that shows you can do more than that. You might consider doing a Space War piece drawing on your love for that genre, or as Sky suggested on Google a Car Wars style piece.

  3. Donald March 28, 2017 at 6:40 am

    Lot of fun possibilities: space romp in the Dumarest vein? weird fantasy a la A. Merritt? a good old-fashioned lost world tale?

    Write your passion.

  4. PCBushi March 28, 2017 at 12:48 pm

    Yes, given your proclivity to wargaming and Traveller, I’d second something in that vein – perhaps a nice military SF romp or a space rogue adventure story.

  5. Todd Everhart April 12, 2017 at 10:09 pm

    Go full pulp! Genre mix. Write down your favorite themes, archetypes, settings and throw them at your typewriter. You use a typewriter for all your blog writing, right?

    My guess is we’ll enjoy reading whatever you love writing. Cause that’s what us peons are for!

Leave a Reply

