Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Microgames, Monster Games, and Role Playing Games

Two Months of Fitness

My favorite trainer was back today after being gone for a few weeks. He could tell right away that I had gone up on the size of dumbbells I using.

Back then I was working through my first case of tennis elbow and was terrified that I would hurt myself somehow. I quickly moved up from the five pound weights to eight pounds. And I would have hung around the tens for a while longer. But if there are a bunch of women in the class, then all the eights and tens get used up. So I moved up to the twelves and have gotten used to them.

I think back to month one and it seems like nothing. I was doing five mile runs then because I didn’t know what was wrong with my knee yet, but gosh it was a real struggle to get into the gym three days a week for forty-five minutes each. I never really got sore, but I was dog tired a lot of the time.

Lately, I’m doing closer to six days a week and between an hour and a half to two hours each time– plus biking to the gym and back on top of that. I suspect I’m at the point where improving my diet will give more results than spending more time at the gym. But I’m much less afraid of getting hurt at the gym now. In fact, due to a chronic knee problem I have always been terrified of the gym. Of course, weights turn out to be a huge part of the cure for that sort of thing, so my instincts were opposite from what I really needed to do for years.

I know exactly how far I can run or bike before hurting myself now. A month of time consuming physical therapy did not work a miracle, unfortunately. I don’t know what to think of that. Surprisingly, I don’t skip leg day anymore. In fact… lifting weights makes my ailing knee feel better.

Gaining a newfound familiarity with your limitations… it can be a real downer. I can’t tell you how bad I wish I could be training for a half marathon right now. But it’s off the table at the moment. And I can’t console myself with insanely long bike rides while I work through this, either. On the plus side I’ve got a pair of biceps that I just didn’t have four weeks ago. And there’s nothing stopping me from hitting the gym as much as I want. But I tell you… there’s nothing like not being able to do something that really makes you want to be able to do it.

3 responses to “Two Months of Fitness

  1. Xavier Basora September 10, 2017 at 6:34 am

    Jeffro well done. Limitatoons are humbling so don’t overcome them by brute force. Rather work around them like a rock in the middle of a sream. Also you need to adjust slightly the excercises to let your body recupersate. Ask your trainer for any advice on what to do. Perhaps you need to do a different type for your knees as they recuperate.

    Don’t give up and pump on! :)

    xavier

    • jeffro September 10, 2017 at 9:19 am

      It just hit me that doing my big distance bike ride on the same day I go to the gym is dumb.

      Serious athletes all get that. But my doctor either didn’t or else didn’t want to hash out a plan more sophisticated than “work through it.”

      • Xavier Basora September 12, 2017 at 9:28 am

        Jeffro
        Yup. Moderation is key. I read your most recent post. Please don’t do that you’ll wreck your body. Remember space out your excercises one day hard another easy and another resting (no excercise)
        xavier

Leave a Reply

